A combined bowling effort from Jozi Stars helped them to clinch the inaugural edition of the Mzansi Super League, beating Cape Town Blitz by eight wickets at PPC Newlands on Sunday (December 16).Led by the brilliant fast bowling trio of Kagiso Rabada (1/16), Duanne Olivier (2/32) and Beuran Hendricks (2/21), Stars stunned the Blitz batting line-up by restricting them to 113 for 7 on a sluggish pitch in Cape Town.

Dan Christian (1/11) and Simon Harmer (0/14) also excelled, before Rassie van der Dussen – the leading batsman in the competition – crafted an unbeaten 54-ball 55, studded with eight fours and a six, to fittingly lead his side to victory with 15 deliveries to spare.

Opting to bat, none of Blitz’s batsmen could get going. They were rocked in the second over when the in-form Quinton de Kock was dismissed through an excellent catch by Reeza Hendricks off Beuran Hendricks for five runs.

Dawid Malan (17) and Kyle Verreynne (23) stuck for a while but failed to bring the much-required momentum into the innings. Pakistani duo Mohammad Nawaz (3) and Asif Ali (4) perished in no time as the home team were reduced to 48 for 4.

Skipper Farhaan Behardien (23), Ferisco Adams (12*) and Dale Steyn (15*) chipped in with decent cameos at the end to lead their side past the three-figure mark.

In reply, Ryan Rickelton (6) was knocked over quite early before an 86-run stand between Reeza Hendricks and Van der Dussen took the game away from the visiting side. The two played smartly and kept the scoreboard ticking before Hendricks fell to Malusi Siboto for 41-ball 33.

Van der Dussen, however, stayed till the very end as captain Dane Vilas sealed the deal with a boundary.

Van der Dussen and Olivier added to the Stars triumph by being named leading batsman and bowler of the tournament respectively. Gihahn Cloete of the Tshwane Spartans was named the best fielder while the MVP award went to the Blitz’s Quinton de Kock.