Allan Border Medal Night Renamed as Australian Cricket Awards



Cricket Australia and the Australian Cricketers’ Association have said that their annual cricket awards event will be renamed as the Australian Cricket Awards from the 2019 edition. Previously the awards, which celebrated the performances of Australian cricketers internationally and domestically, had the Belinda Clark Award and Allan Border Medal as the top honours and was awarded to the female and male cricketer of the year respectively.
There are several changes that are being made to the awards night as compared to previous years to reflect the change of scenario in Australian cricket and in particular the increased spotlight on women’s cricket and the popularity of the T20 format.

“This event has a rich history and updating the name to the Australian Cricket Awards is a very positive step in recognising the current state of the game,” said Australian Cricketers’ Association CEO Alistair Nicholson.

“Whether current-day players or our past legends, this event is a great opportunity to recognise some outstanding achievements, and for the players to celebrate with their peers.” Cricket Australia CEO Kevin Roberts also lauded the move.

“We are very proud of the history of cricket’s premier awards and have taken the opportunity to change the name to reflect the evolution of the sport that has taken place in the years since the Allan Border Medal and the Belinda Clark Award, were first introduced,” said Roberts.

“The Australian Cricket Awards will be a wonderful celebration of our sport and an occasion that highlights the achievement, passion and dedication of our women’s and men’s players across all formats of the game.”

The 2019 edition of the Australian Cricket Awards is scheduled for February 11th in Melbourne.

First Published: December 13, 2018, 12:23 PM IST